Science, Technology, and Innovation

Commission Details

Board Website 
Board Website
Long Name 
North Carolina Board of Science, Technology and Innovation
Governor Appointments 
Total Board Positions 
Cite Name 
N.C. Gen. Stat.
Cite Number 
§ 143B-472.81
Term Length 
4 Years
To advise and make recommendations to the Governor, the General Assembly, the Sec. of Commence and any North Carolina non profit corporation with which the Dept. of commerce contracts pursuant to G.S.143B-431A on the role of science, technology and innovation in the economic growth and development of NC.

Current Members

Member Name 
Appointment Date 
Term End Date 
Term Type 
Janet R. Cowell 11/9/2022 Ex OfficioGovernor or Governor`s designee
Philip John Cardinale 1/30/20236/30/2025LimitedRep. Of Private Industry
Scott D. Dorney 2/1/20216/30/2025LimitedRep. Of Private Industry
Mladen A. Vouk 3/8/2021 Pleasure of The GovernorNC State rep. nominated by UNC President
James Weaver 9/29/20216/30/2025LimitedAt-Large
Jason W. Botts 11/17/20166/30/2023LimitedAt-Large
Michael D. Quillen 11/15/20196/30/2023LimitedAt-Large
George B. Abercrombie 11/22/20196/30/2025LimitedRep. of Private Industry
Katrinka McCallum 1/28/20216/30/2023LimitedAt-Large
James Vinson Hunter 3/22/20236/30/2025LimitedRep. of Private Industry
Michael R. Cunningham 11/9/20226/30/2023LimitedAt-Large
Catherine W. Horne 10/16/20176/30/2023LimitedAt-Large
Christopher G. Davis 1/30/20236/30/2023LimitedAt-Large
Yonnie Dean Butler 2/25/20226/30/2025LimitedRep. of the NC Community College System
Claudia Isabel Walker 11/15/201912/31/2024LimitedRep. K-12 public education
William F. Walker 1/27/2021 Pleasure of The GovernorRep. of Duke University nominated by Duke President
Richard Tankersley 1/21/20206/30/2023Pleasure of The GovernorComponent of UNC System nominated by UNC President (other than UNC-CH or NCSU)
Gregory Paul Copenhaver 2/28/20226/30/2023Pleasure of The GovernorUNC-Chapel Hill rep. nominated by UNC President
Michael P. McBrierty 7/12/20216/30/2025LimitedRep. Of Private Industry
Olga Pierrakos 10/16/2017 Pleasure of The GovernorPrivate college or university rep. nominated by Assoc. of Independent Colleges (school other than Duke)
Tonya Smith-Jackson 1/21/20206/30/2023Pleasure of The GovernorHBCU Component of UNC System nominated by UNC President
Gagan Gupta 2/24/20226/30/2025LimitedRep. of private industry

Apply to this Board
Recommend a Candidate