Natural Sciences Museum

Commission Details

Board Website 
Board Website
Long Name 
North Carolina State Museum of Natural Sciences Advisory Commission
Natural and Cultural Resources
Governor Appointments 
Total Board Positions 
Cite Name 
N.C. Gen. Stat.
Cite Number 
§ 143B-135.215
Term Length 
4 Years - 3 consecutive
The commission formulates policies for the advancement of the State Museum of Natural Sciences and assists in promoting and developing wider and more effective use of the museum as an educational, scientific and historical exhibit.

Current Members

Member Name 
Appointment Date 
Term End Date 
Term Type 
Theresa McCoy 3/21/20148/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Anne S. York 9/21/20218/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Phillip R. Westmoreland 4/16/20148/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Rhonda Hubbard Beatty 1/30/20188/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Zeel Ashok Patel 1/30/20188/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Thomas W. Earnhardt 3/17/20178/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Catherine Mattesich Taylor 12/15/20228/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Creighton P. Blackwell 12/10/20188/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Brenda H. Pollard 1/30/20188/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Shyla M. Hairston 9/22/20218/31/2025LimitedAt-large
William Seth Palmer 9/21/20218/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Sterling Fulton 12/10/20188/31/2026LimitedAt-large
June A. Blotnick 12/15/20228/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Margaret Rader 12/10/20188/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Thomas R. Easley 3/20/20188/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Ada Lopez 1/30/20188/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Emily S. Burkhart 12/15/20228/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Dorsey Tobias 12/10/20188/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Shanna Windham 12/10/20188/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Carl L. Wilkins, Jr. 11/23/20168/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Carly Cooke 12/10/20188/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Catherine C. Morris 5/2/20238/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Anne Russell Caywood 11/22/20168/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Dawne Coker 7/19/20238/31/2026LimitedAt-large
James M. Lewis 12/10/20188/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Barden Culbreth 12/10/20188/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Hollins P. Clark 3/31/20148/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Christina N. Williams 10/27/20168/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Bernadette Healy Goodnight 12/8/20208/31/2024LimitedAt-large
Lauren G. Cole 12/8/20208/31/2024LimitedAt-large
Claude E. Summers II12/10/20188/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Jose Chavez 1/30/20188/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Bob Gale 12/15/20228/31/2026LimitedAt-large
Janis V. McLaughlin 1/30/20188/31/2025LimitedAt-large
Danielle M. Parry-Hill 9/22/20218/31/2025LimitedAt-large

Apply to this Board
Recommend a Candidate