Cherokee Preservation Foundation

Commission Details

Board Website 
Board Website
Long Name 
Cherokee Preservation Foundation Board of Directors
Governor Appointments 
Total Board Positions 
Cite Name 
Cite Number 
of the Cherokee Preservation Foundation, Inc.
Term Length 
4 Years
The foundation is charged with protecting, preserving and enhancing the natural resources, environmental and aesthetic appearance of Cherokee tribal lands from degradation as a result of traffic and growth connected to gaming activities. Members also assist in economic development and help foster employment opportunities on or near Cherokee tribal lands. Additionally, the foundation provides funding to help preserve, research, study, restore and develop the history, culture, and heritage of the Cherokee people. The foundation has 10 members. The governor appoints all members.

Current Members

Member Name 
Appointment Date 
Term End Date 
Term Type 
David Reece Anderson 4/26/201912/31/2021LimitedAt-Large
Louise Goings 2/2/202112/31/2024LimitedAt-Large
Debora K. Forest 2/2/202112/31/2024LimitedAt-Large
Adam Wachacha 9/1/2018 Ex OfficioChair of the Tribal Council of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians
Ronald D. Beale 4/26/201912/31/2022LimitedCounty Commissioner from Haywood, Jackson, Swain, Macon, Graham, Clay or Cherokee Counties
Melissa K. Smith 10/15/201812/31/2024LimitedNominated by the Principal Chief/Member of Eastern Band of Cherokees
Catcuce Tiger 10/15/201812/31/2024LimitedNominated by the Principal Chief/ Member of Eastern Band of Cherokee
Janell Rattler 1/26/202112/31/2024LimitedAt-Large / Member of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians
April Smith Ross 4/26/201912/31/2021LimitedAt-Large / Member of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians
Ty Bushyhead Boyd 2/1/202112/31/2024LimitedAt-Large
Danny R. Burns 7/10/201812/31/2021LimitedAt-Large

Apply to this Board
Recommend a Candidate